What are insulation levels?

There are six insulation levels in all, each with a maximum allowable temperature. Safety standards each specify the applicable insulation level.

Insulation level Maximum allowable temperature
Class Y 90°C
Class A 105°C
Class E 120°C
Class B 130°C
Class F 155°C
Class H 180°C


Safety standard Insulation level
UL Class A
CSA Class B
VDE Class E or B

Did this help answer your question?

thumbs up
thumbs down

Thanks for the feedback! 🙏🏽